Blog Feedback #5

Link to Emma’s post: https://graphiccollision.wordpress.com/2018/03/11/the-wonders-of-playtesting/

My comment:
Hi!

You clearly describe the main aspects of the game that testers gave you feedback on (power up and portal to the next level). I like that you focus on two “bigger” aspects and elaborate their “evolution”, rather than describing a bunch of feedback. I believe most of us get a lot of feedback that touch a lot of different features – but there is always something that the majority of testers gets stuck on or misunderstand. So good job on listening to your testers and focusing on two of the aspects in this blog!

It was interesting how the “crystal portal” was seen differently between your team and the testers. The solution was really smart – with the portal. I myself play tested your game during the second session and I really liked the portal. I bet it was difficult to leave the crystal-look behind since you all really liked it…

It’s always sad to read about groups that don’t get along very well or have issues communicating. I, as a manager, automatically consider this a lot when reading other posts (because it’s managers’ job to more or less create good communication, even though many don’t realize that it goes both ways) and try to think why so many teams have issues. It seems like there is no perfect team, but some have it better than the others. I’m glad that playtesting gave you hope for you and your game anyway.

The text flow is very smooth and is easy to follow. You write in a way that makes me, the reader, want to continue reading. Which is great! Interesting post overall.
It was however a little confusing which paragraph belonged to which playtest. It felt like a mixture of both, but in the future, you might want to separate them, to not confuse the reader too much.

/Juste Eriksson
Team Kraken

Leave a comment